Nigeria deports 10 Egyptians, 7 Sri-Lankans


No fewer than 10 10 Egyptians and seven Sri-Lankans have been deported by the Nigerian authorities.

The deportation which was approved by the federal government is with immediate effect.

Public Relations Officer, Nigeria Immigration Service, Mr Sunday James, disclosed this in a statement made available on Friday in Abuja.

James said the Minister of Interior, Mr Rauf Aregbeshola, had signed the deportation order in pursuant to section 45, subsection 2, section 46, subsection 1 and Section 47, subsection 1 of the Nigeria Immigration Act 2015.

He said the 10 Egyptians had violated the conditions for their entry and the minister had ordered their deportation with immediate effect.

“Seven Sri-Lankans that were jailed for petroleum product-related offences after serving their jail terms were ordered by the court to be deported to their country as well.

“The minister also signed the deportation order of one Ali Mahamat Taher to France and one Kasinathan Ramasamy to India who were found to be involved in activities violating the conditions of their entry into Nigeria.

“Taher was found to be engaged in activities capable of undermining the security of a friendly neighbouring country to Nigeria in Maiduguri, Borno state. Ramasamy was found working as a shop attendant in Kano,” he said.

The Comptroller General of NIS, Mr Muhammad Babandede, had directed that all migrants in Nigeria should comply with the laws guiding their residence and entry following the resumption of international flight.

See also  Ghana to FG: 700 Nigerians deported in 2019 are criminals‎


Comments are closed.