LG Poll: PDP clears Ebonyi chairmanship, councillorship seats


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has cleared all the chairmanship and councillorship seats in last Saturday’s local government election conducted in the 13 councils of Ebonyi State.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) did not take part in the election.

The outcome of the election was announced by the chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission (EBSIEC), Mr. Jossy Eze in Abakaliki on Sunday.

Eze said elections held across the 171 electoral wards and 13 councils of the state but however declined to release details of the election results.

He said the commission has ratified and adopted the chairmanship results for the 13 LGAs as announced by various LGA returning officers and the councillorship results announced at the 171 electoral wards.

“Chief Emmanuel Nwangele won the chairmanship position for Abakaliki LGA, Mrs Obiageri Oko-Enyim —Afikpo North, Chief Eni Uduma – Afikpo South, and Mrs Chinyere Nwogbaga –Ebonyi LGA.

“Dr Nora Alo won the Chairmanship seat for Ezza North LGA, Mr Kenneth Eze —Ezza South LGA, Chief Stephen Orogwu —Ikwo LGA, Mr Henry Eze —Ishiellu, and Mr Onyebuchi Ogbadu—Ivo LGA.

“Chief Paul Nwogha won the chairmanship position for Izzi LGA, Mrs Chinyere Iyioku —Ohaozara LGA, Clement Odah —Ohaukwu LGA, and Mr Felix Igboke—Onicha LGA,” the EBSIEC chairman said.

He expressed gratitude to the people of the state for coming out in their numbers to take part in the election on Saturday.

See also  Foundation constructs 70 housing units for Ebonyi indigents

“I particularly thank the state government for not interfering in the conduct of the elections as this helped in making it credible, free, and fair.

“The election has been won and lost, but the victory is for everybody who participated in the elections.

“The winners should carry everybody along and everyone should contribute in delivering democratic dividends to people at the grassroots, which the local government areas represent,” he said.


Leave A Reply