Yoruba in Kwara, Kogi ask FG to merge them with South-West through boundary adjustment 


Yoruba communities in Kwara and Kogi states have asked the Federal Government to adjust the boundaries of the two states so as to merge them with the South-West region.‎

Yoruba speaking communities occupy seven local government areas in Kwara South senatorial zone and five LGAs in Kogi State.

In a statement on Friday, National President of the forum, Pa Joseph Aderibigbe, ‎said they have forwarded a memorandum to the National Assembly through the platform of Kwara South Consultative Forum.‎

Aderibigbe, who was the first Secretary to Kwara State Government when it was created in 1967, disclosed that the group also submitted a memorandum to the 9th National Assembly’s Committee on Review of the Nigerian Constitution, with a demand for the merging of the Yoruba of Kwara and Kogi with their kinsmen in the South-West through boundary adjustment.

According to him, they also demanded that the rest of the Yoruba in the remaining five LGAs of the state should be part of Kwara Yoruba to be merged with the proposed Western Region through a referendum.

He said, “The Yoruba of Kwara South occupying seven out of the 16 LGAs in the state and their counterparts in Kogi state were not given any say to determine where they wanted to be and who they wanted to live with before lumping them in with the Northern Protectorate, contrary to their right to self-determination as enshrined in the United Nations Atlantic Charter.

See also  Unknown gunmen kill 13 family members in Kogi‎

“The search for freedom, liberty, independence and self-determination for our people, born and unborn, therefore continues. We want a group and region to which we truly belong, where respect between us and others is reciprocal. We can no longer tolerate second-class citizenship, marginalisation and domination in a place and state that is supposed to be for all of us who live in it.”

Comments are closed.