Buhari names Train Stations after Tinubu, Osinbajo, Saraki, others


Barely one month after he named the railway complex in Agbo, the operational hub of the Itakpe-Warri line after former President Goodluck Jonathan, President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday named railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after other notable Nigerians.

Among the latest beneficiaries are the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu, Nobel Laureate, Prof Wole Soyinka, second republic Senate Leader, Olusola Saraki, among others.

The Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi had posted on his verified Twitter handle that the honour was for “deserving citizens who have contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large”.

But in a later statement by the Ministry of Transportation on Monday titled, ‘Buhari Names Railway Stations After Prominent Nigerians’.and signed by the signed by the ministry’s Director, Press and Public Relations, Eric Ojiekwe, the  minister noted that about 23 notable Nigerians benefited from the gesture.

While the Apapa Station was named after Tinubu; the Abeokuta station was named after Soyinka, while the Ajaokuta Station was conferred on the late Saraki, the late father of former Senate President, Bukola Saraki.

Others include Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo who got Kajola station while the Agege station was conferred on the Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola.

Other personalities conferred with train station names include Lateef Jakande (Agbado station), and Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station).’

Below is a full list of the Nigerians who were conferred with names of train stations:

The Lagos-Ibadan with extension to the Lagos Port Complex at Apapa railway station

See also  Nigeria @ 60: ‎It makes no sense for oil to be cheaper in Nigeria than Saudi Arabia‎... Buhari 

Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Apapa station)

Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station)

Babatunde Raji Fashola (Agege station)

Lateef Jakande (Agbado station)

Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola station).

Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station)

Prof. Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station)

Aremo Segun Osoba(Olodo station)

Chief Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station)

Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station)

Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre)


The Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri Railway

Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station)

Dr. Olushola Saraki (Ajaokuta station)

Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo station)

Brigadier General George Innih (Agenebode station)

Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station)

Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station)

Brig. Gen. Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (rtd) (Igbanke station)

Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (Agbor Station Complex)

Brigadier General David Ejoor (Abraka station)

Micheal Ibru (Opara station)

Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu station)

Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor)



Leave A Reply