Ondo 2020: Akeredolu emerges APC Flagbearer



Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State has won the Governorship primary election of the All Progressives Congress (APC) ahead of the October 10, gubernatorial election in the State.

Akeredolu defeated 7 other aspirants including Chief Olusola Oke, Sola Iji, Isaac Kekemeke, Olaide Adelami, Mrs Jumoke Anifowose, Nathaniel Adojutelegan and Bukola Adetula.

Three other aspirants including Jimi Odimayo, Ife Oyedele and Olusegun Abraham had withdrawn from the election and declared support for the incumbent governor.

Announcing the result of the primary election which took place at the International Conference Centre, Akure on Monday evening, the Chairman of the governorship primary election committee and Governor of Kogi State, Mr Yahaya Bello said Akeredolu polled the highest number of votes in all the 18 local government areas of the state, was overwhelmingly voted for by many of the delegates.

Governor Bello described the election as a free and fair one, adding that members of the committee were fair to all the aspirants that participated in the election.

While urging all the aspirants that participated in the election to support the party’s candidate to ensure the victory of the party in the governorship election, Bello said the outcome of the election showed the level of acceptance of Akeredolu by members of the party in the state.

See also  There's no crisis in APGA says Embattled National Chairman
Leave A Reply