Bye-election: Ararume, Abiru pick APC tickets for Lagos, Imo Senate seats



Former Group Managing Director/Chief Executive of Polaris Bank, Tokunbo Abiru and former Gubernatorial candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance in Imo State, Senator Ifeanyi Ararume have emerged as the candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the October 31 bye-election in Lagos East and Imo North senatorial districts respectively.

While party delegates in Lagos East senatorial district nominated Abiru in Lagos, delegates in Imo North zone voted for Ararume during the party’s primary election on Thursday.

Abiru is contesting to fill the vacuum left behind by the late Sen. Adebayo Osinowo, while Ararume is seeking to replace Senator Ben Uwajumogu who died earliuer in the year.

Abiru emerged unopposed in the primaries as the only candidate cleared by the National Working Committee of the APC.

On his part, Ararume was declared winner by the chairman of the APC  primary for his senatorial zone., Umar Gana Nguma.

Ararume scored 22, 944 votes to defeated his closest opponent and the sister of the late late Uwajumogu, Chidinma who polled 3,757 votes.

Other aspirants including Mark Uchendu, Frank Ibezim and Athan Achonu scored 1877, 1216 and 934 respectively.

Others are Matthew Omegara 698, Acho Ihim 212, Bright Nwachukwu, 126, Eze Okoro, 53 and Uchenna Uchewuba 51 votes.


See also  Messi generates third of Barcelona’s income, says Laporta
Leave A Reply