Edo 2020: INEC publishes final list of candidates


Ahead of the September 19 Edo State Governorship election, the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has published the final list of candidates.

A total of 14 political parties are participating in the election.

The National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee of the Commission, Festus Okoye said the development is in compliance with the commission’s Timetable and Schedule of Activities and in accordance with Section 34 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).

Okoye further said in a statement on Saturday that the list has been displayed in its offices in the State capital and the 18 Local Government Areas of Edo State.

“The list has also been uploaded on the Commission’s website”, he said.

According to him, by Section 35 of the Electoral Act and the Timetable and Schedule of Activities of the Commission, the withdrawal and substitution of candidates for the Edo Governorship election ended on 13th July 2020.

“With the publication of the Final List of candidates, no Political Party can withdraw or substitute any of the nominated candidates or tamper with the List and particulars of the candidates in a manner inconsistent with the intendment of the Constitution and the Electoral Act.

“We urge Political Parties to pay close attention to the timelines stipulated in the Timetable and Schedule of Activities of the Commission as well as the provisions of the Constitution and the Electoral Act”, the statement added.

See also  Edo 2020: 35 political parties collapse structures for Obaseki


Leave A Reply