EFCC directs former NASC commissioners to return official vehicles



The Economic Financial and Crimes Commission (EFCC) has directed former national commissioners of the National Assembly Service Commission (NASC) to return all official vehicles still in their possession.

‎The anti-graft agency warned that the erstwhile NASC commissioners would be prosecuted if the vehicles are not returned.

The EFCC gave the directive in a letter dated August 20, 2020, and signed by Ahmad Sa’ad Abubakar, the Abuja zonal head, on behalf of the acting executive chairman.

Parts of the letter, addressed to the acting secretary of NASC, read, “We refer to the case of alleged conspiracy and criminal conversion of public property involving the erstwhile chairman and commissioners of your commission.

“In view of the above, you are kindly requested to inform the under listed former commissioners to return the official vehicles – 508 cars attached to them on or before September 3, 2020, and to those who have already disposed of their cars, your office should value it on its appropriate government value price for repayment to the government pending the conclusion of the investigation into the matter.”

The letter listed the concerned former NASC commissioners as Alhaji Adamu Fika, chairman, Alhaji Aliyu Abubakar, Alhaji Abubakar Garba Rufai, Alhaji Abdulkadir Abugi, Elder Stephen Yepwi, and Mrs. Riskat Oyebimbe Alabi.

Others include Barrister Oluwafunmilola Lamuye, Hon. Godfrey Dikeocha, Hon. Abe Chukwu, Senator Dahiru Gassol, Mallam Idi Adamu Ningi and Dr. Paul Oweh.

See also  Ex-Pension boss, Maina bags 8-year jail term for money laundering

‎The letter further explained that the request was made pursuant to section 38 (1) of the EFCC (Establishment) Act, 2004 and section 21 of the Money Laundering (Prohibition) Act 2011 as amended.


Leave A Reply